Construction or development

When thinking about construction and development we rarely think of the people and how it effects them. In Construction we tear down and demolish all the time. In development we build and improve. In this do we think about ministry? I do there are two people in charge at both sites. The characters are a foreman and then a developer. The Foreman will move dirt, trees, and anything that stands in his way. Then there is the developer he is a resources type guy. A developer uses the natural resources and builds upon them rarely removing them from their environment. In ministry do we recognize any of these characteristics and associate our walk with it. One I remember in ministry as a young, very young, even younger than I am now leader. I wanted to change the world and that anything that didn’t work that included people. I was a bulldozer pushing and clearing people out of my way. I learned that I had a relationship with God but if you didn’t I was going to force you to have one. I had so much misplaced zeal I needed to harness it in a way people would want to come to God not run from his overzealous son. In this short period I have redeveloped my focus in life and it is development of people. Relationships are extremely important and bring great value in my life not the accomplishments. I have the tendency to want to bulldoze but that’s when my friend the Holy Spirit speaks up. I have a heart for development not construction. I want to develop Kingdom relationship not bulldoze people to the cross. I have been really mad at God because I have no idea why I bulldoze and not develop right now in my life. Past accomplishment are minimized to nothing and future accomplishment seem way to small. I see my life stuck on repeat and before I came to Christ I wasn’t happy at what I was accomplishing and that’s nothing. I am no longer an equipment operator and in this new place of training to be developer is more than I want to do. I want to just skip the development school and move onto being a developer. I really like feed back on this one please. I just pray God sees me through this new development and I hope Christ gives me a little more grace.

One thought on “Construction or development

Leave a Reply

